Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: O'brien says he's free to deal

Guess Who's Back missionhockey21's Avatar
    MLB ERA
    Blog Entries
    I don't know what to think Wally. I just thought that Dan O essentially has his hands tied in terms of major moves due to this ownership change, like I said I have limited knowledge in regards to this but wouldn't a trade of magnitude or what not have an impact on the transaction price? Again, correct me if you know something, I am just saying based on what I am GUESSING that I don't think much is going to happen til the new powers to be are in place.

That and the main core of the MLB team has to be viewed as Dunn, Harang and FeLo. I don't trust Dan O to trade them and I wouldn't want another GM to do so, because I don't think you can get the quality that a player like Dunn deserves back. As for Harang and FeLo... we know our pitching problem so Harang is a lock as for FeLo an offensive player like that at SS and on the upside of his career is a keeper. I am not really concerned with Dan O at this point, assuming we want to remain competitive I want Dunn staying and with the rumors circling above us like vultures ready to feast, I am a bit jumpy to post in regards to my save Dunn initiative.

from what lancaster wrote, i don't think DanO's hands are tied to tightly, and i have no idea if a teams talent is accounted for int he sale price, but i suppose i could see someone from the new ownership group telling DanO not to trade those three players. Something along those lines.

If that's the case, which i think would be reasonable, that doesn't really change my position on what DanO should be doing. For instance, the rangers asked the twins for liriano and more for blalock. the twins need offense, and if that's the sort of deal they are finding so far, it shouldn't be too hard to pry loose baker for wily mo. but if the twins get offense in the winter meetings, that's one fewer option for us.