Thread: The story of Keith Closs

Future PGA Tour Golfer DirtyKash's Avatar
    MLB ERA
    Blog Entries

NBA The story of Keith Closs

I found this about one of my favorite players of all-time (to make fun of) when scrolling through this website. It's the story of Keith Closs, which sounds like it's straight out of He Got Game. Dude battled so much adversity to get to where he is in life and had talent coming out of his ass. He should have been huge in the NBA.

This story is an excerpt from my book, "Redwoods: Spread Your Roots and Coach Your Team to Success!" Other coaches always told me that this was the greatest recruiting story of all-time...

I was a lot smarter coach when I had talent and the only way to attract talent was to recruit like a mad man. The taller the talent usually the better coach I was.

Keith Closs Jr. was 7'3" with a 7'3" wingspan. He had grown into a Redwood! He was left-handed, he could run the floor, and jumped out of the arena. When God created Keith Closs Jr., he made all the right decisions in developing the perfect shot blocker. The moment I laid my eyes on this special talent, I dedicated myself to someday coaching Keith Closs Jr.

He was being wooed by Utah, Oregon State, Long Beach State, Penn State, Maryland, UConn and Boston College just to name a few. I was the head coach of unheralded Central Connecticut State University. I was headed toward the end of my contract and 24 losses do not feed the twins. I needed a strategy that would change the rules of the game while playing within the rules of the N.C.A.A.