View Poll Results: Will Beltre in 2006....

Voters
6. You may not vote on this poll
  • Better than last year

5 83.33%
  • Stay the same

1 16.67%
  • Worse than last year

0 0%

Thread: Notes: Tightening the Beltre

MLB ERA
    Blog Entries

Mariners Notes: Tightening the Beltre

PEORIA, Ariz. -- Mariners third baseman Adrian Beltre reported to Spring Training on Friday morning looking lean.

He arrived in camp wearing a tan jogging suit, a smile and minus more than 10 pounds.

"I've lost about 12 pounds, and it wasn't easy for me," he said. "I'm not good at dieting."

After being periodically hampered by a sore left hamstring last season, Beltre returned to his Los Angeles home and started eating "mostly chicken breasts and salads, no carbohydrates."

Beltre also spent a lot of time on a treadmill, and the end result was a more chiseled look and fewer pounds his legs have to carry.

"He looks a lot leaner and skinnier than he did last year, but his upper body is bigger and he probably will be stronger," Mariners trainer Rick Griffin said. "It's only going to help him to have eight or 10 pounds off."

At 216 pounds, Beltre is close to his playing weight in 2004, when he had a career year with the Dodgers -- a .334 batting average, 48 home runs and 121 RBIs. That season landed him a five-year, $64 million contract with the Mariners.

For whatever reason, he added almost 15 pounds and reported to his first Mariners camp with a lot of weight on his shoulders -- among other places.

"He was not out of shape, or fat," manager Mike Hargrove recalled, "but we felt he would be better served [by losing some weight]. It makes it easier to move, and is easier on your joints."

Beltre gave his full support to shedding a few pounds this winter.