Thread: Q&A with Milton Bradley

Padre Legend
    Rookie ERA

Q&A with Milton Bradley

Interview by Bill Center / UNION-TRIBUNE

When healthy and happy, Milton Bradley is a multitalented and electrifying player. But injuries and controversy have marred the career of the 28-year-old, who is with his fifth team in eight seasons.

Q: What do fans really need to know about Milton Bradley?
    A: “I can't really tell them anything. See me, I guess. See me play. Whenever I'm playing, I give it my full focus and intensity. If you have a negative attitude of me, I don't worry about that.”

Q: Do you see San Diego as being a fresh start?
    A: “I don't think you ever get a fresh start. When I was a rookie in 2000, I attended an orientation given by (former major league outfielder) Jeffrey Hammond. He said, 'You are going to get a label as a player and that label is going to stick with you forever. You can't get rid of it.' I've got a label.”

Q: How important are the Padres to your baseball future?
    A: “I'll keep playing wherever it is. But if my last game is tomorrow, my last game is tomorrow. I enjoy being around people who know how to play, teams that have a team concept and make winning important. This team is very similar to the A's last year, pitching, defense and timely hitting. There were no problems in Oakland. Good people in both places with more veterans here. I just enjoy playing and winning. I don't enjoy playing a lot when you are losing.”

Q. Many people, I guess, would be surprised to know of your off-the-field charitable work.
    A: “I get more satisfaction doing stuff for other people than for myself. When I was with the Dodgers, I was nominated for the Roberto Clemente Award for community service. I enjoy that part of what baseball gives me.”

Q. While you were with the Dodgers, you opened two youth baseball academies in Long Beach. Are they still there?