Thread: Playoff Payoff? A's Offer Thomas Two Year Extension

A's Playoff Payoff? A's Offer Thomas Two Year Extension

OAKLAND, Calif. (AP) -- The Oakland Athletics have increased their efforts to re-sign Frank Thomas, offering the Big Hurt a two-year deal.

The A's made the offer on Thursday -- when general manager Billy Beane spoke to Thomas' agent, Arn Tellem. Thomas has repeatedly said he wanted nothing less than a two-year deal, and Oakland previously offered one year with an option for 2008.

"They've offered two years, but we're still a long way away," Thomas told The Associated Press on Friday after the A's swept the Minnesota Twins to reach the AL championship series. "It's something where I want to be here. I'm also at the point in my career where I've got to do the right thing. I'm a free agent."

After playing his first 16 seasons with the Chicago White Sox and dealing with a bitter parting, the 38-year-old Thomas has rejuvenated his career with the A's. He appreciated a fresh start, too.

Thomas batted .270 with 39 home runs and 114 RBIs in 137 games this season after two injury-plagued seasons sidelined him for all but 108 games the past two years with the White Sox. He didn't play during their run to the World Series title in 2005.

This year has been a total turnaround.

He homered twice in Oakland's Game 1 win in the division series at Minnesota -- his first postseason homers since 1993 -- and also had a hit in both Games 2 and 3. He is hitting .500 (5-for-10) so far in these playoffs.

Fans chant "MVP! MVP!" whenever he steps into the batter's box.

"Billy had a good conversation with Arn yesterday," A's assistant general manager David Forst said. "We offered two years, and hopefully we're moving toward getting something done."