Thread: Yankees Likely To Eventually Exercise Sheff's Option

Yankees Yankees Likely To Eventually Exercise Sheff's Option

TAMPA, Fla. (AP) -- Gary Sheffield reported to spring training Tuesday and was upbeat after the Yankees said they'd likely keep him around for 2007.

Sheffield is entering the final season of a $39 million, three-year contract, and the Yankees hold a $13 million option for 2007.

"They brought me in and told me they were probably going to pick the option up," Sheffield said after meeting with general manager Brian Cashman. "You always want to earn whatever you get. I take a lot pride in that. He didn't have to bring me in today. I appreciate that. When I was a free agent, a lot of teams called and I really didn't answer. There was only one place, and that still remains the same. I don't want to play for nobody else but the Yankees."

Cashman said there is no timetable regarding a final decision. Sheffield's contract calls for the option to be exercised within five days of the end of the World Series or Nov. 5.

"He's such a great player, I'd been surprised at the end of this thing we're not doing something," Cashman said. "Let's play this thing through and see where it goes. I'm not saying we'll do anything soon. I'm not saying we're not going to do anything until the very end. I don't know yet."

Sheffield negotiated his contract personally with Yankees owner George Steinbrenner, who said the option matter will be Cashman's call.

"Brian is the boss of that," Steinbrenner said. "It's up to Brian. We'll see what Brian does. It's in his hands."

Sheffield, a 37-year-old outfielder, was bothered by several physical ailments last season, including a thigh injury that hampered him in September. He still hit .291 with 34 homers and 123 RBIs in 154 games.

"I'm a year at a time guy," Sheffield said. "If I have a good year, go on the next one. I want to go out on a high note."