http://www.minorleaguebaseball.com/a...milb&fext=.jsp

Kevin Czerwinski is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.

TRENTON, N.J. - There's black, there's white and then there's Matt DeSalvo, who by his own admission, enjoys living life in a shade of gray.
A pitcher by trade, DeSalvo is currently hawking his wares for Double-A Trenton of the Eastern League, where he is scheduled to start on Sunday against New Britain. He's as much a thinker as he is a pitcher, though, and not just some clubhouse philosophizer. At 24, though, he's far too young to be expounding on life's great experiences.

Rather, he's looking for answers, whether it's on how to fix his mechanics on the mound or understanding the all too complex machinations of love. He works Thunder pitching coach Dave Eiland on the former. As for the latter, he's taken matters into his own hands, authoring a book, "Loves Travels," in an attempt to find some sort of understanding.

"It was just something to me that I was curious about my whole time growing up," DeSalvo said. "The whole concept of love is kind of confusing. It changes constantly. And I wanted to express myself more than anything else. I wanted to explain something to myself I guess.

"It's all personal stuff, just ideas. Not everyone is the same. There are a lot of stories out there, and I just started writing. I wanted to get a laugh, and I wanted to tell a story but then I thought maybe I should write a book. So one day I went to Wal-Mart and bought a whole bunch of notebooks. I outlined it, and it all came out."